How To Log Out of Chrome

Make sure no one else is browsing while using your credentials.

Check Who's Currently Logged In

The circled "Nathan" shows the name of whatever user account is currently logged into Chrome.

 

Go to the Settings page

  1. Click on the menu button at the top right of the browser window
  2. Click on "Settings"
 

Disconnect Account

Chrome's settings page will open as a new tab in the browser. On this page is the option to "Disconnect you Google Account..", which when clicked will completely log out the current user.

 

Warning for Managed Accounts

You may see a message asking you to confirm that you want to log out as well as a brief rundown of what will be removed from the computer. This only affects the computer you're currently working on - all your saved settings and account information will remain safely as part of your Google Account for when you log back in to this or any other device.

 

After Clearing Data and Disconnecting

Chrome will close. The browser needs to reboot to finish logging the user off. Wait a couple of seconds and then reopen Chrome as you normally would. 

 

Final Confirmation

When Chrome reopens: note the absence of account user names (locations circled above).

This tells us that no account is currently logged in. To log back in to the browser and restore your settings, or to have a different user log in, click the User icon indicated by the yellow arrow.